Odd Thoughts
The Odd Podcast
The Odd Pod Episode 4 - Burnout
6
0:00
-47:06

The Odd Pod Episode 4 - Burnout

things Neil Gaiman might have said
6
Transcript

No transcript...

Viv and I are back with another irregularly scheduled episode of The Odd Pod (the podcast accompaniment to my newsletter).

I didn’t record a separate intro on this one, so you get to play the game “Which voice is Kayla’s and which voice is Viv’s?” :)

It’s another casual chat. The topic this time…

Burnout

Some things we cover in our chat:

  • we define burnout for ourselves and what we think causes it

  • different levels of burnout

  • are we feeling it? (is burnout in the room with us right now? 😅)

  • what motivates/motivated us to make art?

  • finished illustrating a book, now what?

  • creative RPE (rate of perceived exertion)

  • self regulating

  • thinking about your original motivations

  • fast, funny, fun (my illustration motto)

  • setting goals / challenges

  • one thing is universally true…burnout sucks.

Following our own advice

My creative RPE is lower here this week as I put the lion’s share 🙃 into writing and prepping for the next Purposeful Practice round. I’m sidestepping burnout one day at a time, but I can feel its beady eyes watching me.

Enjoy this chat with us and tell me—are you burning out? Are you back from it? How do you deal?

Leave a comment

“Comet Chaser”, the picture book Vivien illustrated and mentions in this episode, serendipitously came out this week!
You can get it here or wherever you like to buy books!

Ask a Question (a thing I just decided to add)

If you have a question you’d like us to answer, leave it in the comments or reply to this email. (It can be about anything, not just burnout related.) I’ll collect them for future episodes. :)

Leave a comment

Thanks for being here everyone! And for your support! Share this episode with anyone burning out, or that you think needs to hear what Neil Gaiman might have said 😂💛

Share

6 Comments
Odd Thoughts
The Odd Podcast
This is an "every once in a while" podcast. It's primarily illustration discussion focused, but will touch on other parts of life and goings on as well. Sometimes there will be a guest and sometimes it will just be me!
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Kayla Stark