FAQs

last updated: October, 9th 2023

General

  1. What was your initial introduction to illustration? What drew you to it as a profession?
    I knew from a young age that drawing was something I loved. I didn’t know the word “illustration” then or that it was a career I could have. I saw drawings in books and wondered “how could I do that”? It wasn’t until after college that I reflected on what I liked most about my school projects—it was when I had the chance to illustrate. I followed that desire from there.

  2. Did you go to art school?

    Nope, I went to a state university—The University of Tennessee at Martin. I have a BFA in Graphic Design with a minor in Japanese. (I am woefully out of practice, but I LOVE languages so much!) :)

  3. How did you find your style?
    I still don’t think I’ve found it. And I kind of hate the world “style”. I do know that my hand and brain together have tendencies to draw specific shapes, curves, marks, etc. (it’s circles for me…haha) I try to accept that to a certain degree, while also pushing myself to try new things and not go on “autopilot”.

  4. Who/what are your inspirations?
    It’s not helpful to say everything buuuut…there are so many inspirations that spark ideas and inform my process. I’ll name a few: combining the classic feel with humor; old paintings from history (they often are telling whole stories in one image); interesting compositions and color palettes used in film; holidays/creating reasons to celebrate, period pieces, fun facts/animals/science. I should stop.😂

  5. How many books have you done?
    Around 10 picture books (if you include the educational ones) and 13 covers

  6. How long does it take to illustrate a book?
    It varies, but typically from offer to publication the whole process can take 1-2 years. For the illustration part it’s on average 4-6 months in my experience. Sometimes longer.

  7. What methods/tips did you use to jumpstart your illustration career?
    Building and finding communities of people doing similar things in the industry. (both online and in-person) This has been the biggest advantage and means of support in what can often be a lonely and hard to navigate career.

  8. What are the downfalls of being an illustrator?
    Cashflow can be tough when you are getting larger payments that have to last between projects spread out across the year (or even multiple years). It’s tough, for me at least, to focus on the bigger projects while also developing other channels of income that need maintaining. I only have so much energy during the day. 😅

  9. Is there something particular about illustration that keeps me sticking with it? Do I ever feel like I want to do something else?
    This is tough to articulate and I’m not sure that I actually can. I feel a pull to illustrate, to create and tell stories, to solve problems with my art. I’ve never been into art for art’s sake, I need to solve problems and create for an audience. It sometimes feels like a curse when I wish I could just be happy in an easier job that pays more. But, alas this is my curse and my benediction.

  10. Are you satisfied with your career now; do you have bigger future goals?
    Never and always.

  11. What is the best way you’ve found that brings the most attention to your work? Consistency in whatever tactic you prefer, maybe that’s reaching out via emails, slowly building relationships and an audience through social media, etc. This Substack space has been fun for me and I’ve noticed slow consistent growth as long as I put in consistent effort. I should also mention that agents often have an outreach strategy that is beneficial in staying top of mind with publishers.

  12. Do you balance client and personal work? Or do you just do whatever whenever?
    It’s important to do personal work as that informs the client work that comes. I believe every offer I’ve had (or most) came from someone seeing an illustration I did just for fun. Scheduling and chunking time can be helpful for balancing both, but sometimes you are stuck in deadline land and it isn’t possible. I also like to give myself illustration challenges that focus on improving specific skills/weaknesses or exploring new interests.

  13. Any advice for illustrators just starting out?
    Draw a lot; don’t try and follow trends too closely (it won’t bring consistent work); find a community of others that work in the same (or a similar) industry and support one another; exercise and stretch your body (being in shrimp pose for too long makes for an achey back/neck/shoulders)

Ideation / Process

  1. How do you get your ideas?
    They come at me all the time, they find me, no matter what, I can’t hide. It’s hard to wrangle them all and I do spend a decent amount of time organizing them into categories to reference later. I know most will never come to realization, but I like to capture them when they find me. And for a more practical answer, mind maps, mind maps, mind maps!

  2. When you are brainstorming, do the ideas come quickly, or do you have a process for ideation?
    The ideas do come quickly, but all jumbled together. Before most every project I do a mind map (I LOVE a mind map); find connections that make for an interesting solution; do a whole page of thumbnails to find an interesting composition; and sometimes i’ll even do a color or value study before going to final. I like to thumbnail in my sketchbook and then do tighter sketches on the iPad before going back to paper for the final.

  3. How often are you exploring new methods?
    All the time, almost everyday. I like this about myself and my practice—it keeps things interesting, but I need to reign this in a bit and spend more time exploring a specific direction or material.

Supplies / Materials

  1. What materials do you use?
    I try a lot of things, but the materials I return to again and again are: graphite, acryla gouache, ink, nib (dip) pen, and some digital edits/modifications.

Business

  1. Do you have an agent?
    I do! The wonderful Lara Perkins at the Andrea Brown Literary Agency. :)

  2. Will you illustrate my picture book/book cover?
    I don’t typically take on self-published projects. If you are are already working with a publishing house and think your project would be a good fit, please reach out to me. Note: Projects are normally contracted through my agent Lara Perkins with ABLA. (lara@andreabrownlit.com)

  3. Do you accept commissions?
    Not at this moment, but if you think you have a project that might be a good fit, reach out. I may or may not be able to accommodate. :)